Harkham Hillel Hebrew Academy Awards Golomb Prize for Excellence in Teaching to Rabbi Michael Cohen


Carri Garelik

Harkham Hillel Hebrew Academy announced Tuesday, June 14, that Rabbi Michael Cohen, Director of Educational Technology at Harkham Hillel Hebrew Academy, has been awarded the prestigious 2016 Golomb Award. This award is given to an outstanding educator each year to recognize and support those who make an impact through innovative programming.

Under Rabbi Cohen’s leadership, Hillel has transitioned to a fully integrated 1:1 iPad environment. Hillel today has no computer lab; rather, it boasts four CoLabs (Collaboration Laboratories). Rabbi Cohen teaches and mentors adults and children in the successful integration of digital education, providing them with the tools to transform educational programs in all disciplines of Judaic and General Studies. He has developed the “Invisible iPad” approach to technology use in education, a topic on which he has presented at several conferences and institutions, including Apple Leadership events, SXSWEdu, ISTE, American Jewish University, and the EdTechTeacher iPad summits.

Due to his innovative approach, Rabbi Cohen was selected to be an Apple Distinguished Educator in the Class of 2015. In 2016, Onalytica published a report ranking him amongst the Top 50 EdTech Influencers today. Rabbi Michael is an ordained Orthodox rabbi, and holds a Master’s in Education, specializing in Educational Technology. He also earned a Bachelor’s in Fine Art, focusing on Art and Design.

Mrs. Geraldine Golomb Wiener will present the Dr. Morris and Eve Golomb Excellence in Teaching Award. Dr. Isaac and Geraldine Wiener and Ms. Marilyn Golomb Selber established this prize in memory of their parents, who had a lifetime commitment to Jewish education. The Golombs, z”l, worked to make a quality Jewish day school education a reality and available to all children in our community at a time when the concept of Jewish day school education in Los Angeles was in its infancy. Each year the Hillel Administration chooses the recipient of this award, endowed in honor of the Golombs.